Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Longest Incarcerations

While the average time spent in prison for all of the exonerees in the National Registry of Exonerations is just under nine years, there have been some prisoners who spent an extraordinary amount of time imprisoned for crimes they did not commit. The Registry calculates prison time from the date of conviction. Therefore, our calculations exclude time spent incarcerated prior to conviction. The following is a list of the exonerees who spent at least 30 years in prison prior to exoneration. 

​Rank​Name​Length of Incarceration​Sentence​Released
​1Ledura Watkins​41 years and 3 months​Life without Parole​2017
​2Ricky Jackson​39 years and 3 months​Death​2014
​3Wiley Bridgeman​39 years​Death​2014
​4Robert Carroll Coney​38 years and 5 months​Life​2004
​5Willie Womble​38 years and 3 months​80 Years​2014
​6Walter Lomax​38 years and 3 months​Life​2006
​7Craig Coley​37 years and 11 months​Life without Parole​2017
​8Joseph Sledge​36 years and 4 months​Life​2015
​9Frederick Clay​35 years and 11 months​Life without Parole​2017
​10James Haley​35 years and 10 months​Life without Parole​2008
​11Fred Weichel​35 years and 8 months​Life without Parole​2017
​12James Bain​35 years and 7 months​Life​2009
​13Edward Carter​35 years and 3 months​Life​2010
​14Anthony Massingill​34 years and 4 months​Life​2014
​15Michael Hanline​34 years and 2 months​Life without Parole​2014
​16Kash Register​34 years​Life​2013
​17Cathy Woods​33 years and 9 months​Life without Parole​2014
​18​Lewis Fogle​33 years and 5 months​Life without Parole​2015
​19Marshall Hale​32 years and 9 months​23 1/2 to 47 years​2017
​20Keith Harward​32 years and 5 months​Life​2016
​21Peter Limone​32 years and 5 months​Death​2001
​22Andre Davis​31 years and 5 months​Life​2012
​23Victor Rosario​31 years and 3 months​Life​2014
​24Lawrence McKinney​31 years and 1 month​100 years​2009
​25William Vasquez​30 years and 9 months​25 years to Life​2012
​26Reginald Adams​30 years and 9 months​Life without Parole​2014
​27Amaury Villalobos​30 years and 9 months​25 years to Life​2012
​28Stanley Wrice​30 years and 6 months​Life​2013
​29Joseph Eastridge​30 years and 6 months​20 years to Life​2005
​30Rickey Dale Wyatt​30 years and 5 months​99 years​2012
​31Andrew Wilson​30 years and 4 months​Life without Parole​2017
​32Laurence Adams​30 years and 1 month​Death​2004
​33Cornelius Dupree, Jr.​30 years and 1 month​75 years​2010