Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > News & Information > Features > NIH Building Dedicated in Honor of MLaw Alum John Edward Porter, '61

NIH Building Dedicated in Honor of MLaw Alum John Edward Porter, '61

By Lori Atherton
April 8, 2014

It's not very often that one gets a building named after him or her, but Michigan Law alumnus John Edward Porter, '61, can add this honor to his list of accolades.

John Edward Porter, '61Porter, a longtime advocate of scientific and biomedical research, celebrated the dedication of The John Edward Porter Neuroscience Research Center at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) on March 31 in Bethesda, Maryland. One of the largest neuroscience research centers in the world, according to the NIH, the building houses more than 800 scientists who conduct brain research.

A partner at the international law firm of Hogan Lovells LLP in Washington, D.C., Porter focuses his practice on policy, strategy, and advocacy for clients primarily in the fields of health and education. Prior to joining the law firm, he was a U.S. congressman from Illinois for 21 years, and served on the Appropriations Committee and as chair of the Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education. His jurisdiction covered all of the health programs of the NIH, as well as those of other health-related federal agencies. Before his election to Congress, Porter served in the Illinois House of Representatives and was an honor law graduate attorney with the U.S. Department of Justice in the Kennedy administration.

In addition to his work at Hogan Lovells, Porter serves as chair of Research!America, a nonprofit public education and advocacy group dedicated to making health research a higher national priority, and as vice chair of the Foundation for the NIH.

The recipient of more than 275 awards, Porter will add another one to his resume April 27 when the National Academy of Sciences will present him with its 2014 Public Welfare Medal. The medal is the academy's most prestigious award and is presented annually to honor the extraordinary use of science for the public good. Past awardees include Bill and Melinda Gates and Herbert Hoover.

Read more feature stories.

Share |