Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Spring Awards

The criteria for each award is listed below, along with a link to each nomination form. Please note that you may nominate an individual for more than one of the awards. Once a nomination is submitted it cannot be edited or retrieved.

Henry M. Bates Memorial Scholarship Award (Faculty nominations only): the Law School's highest honor for outstanding seniors, taking into account scholarship in legal studies, personality, character, extracurricular interests, and promise of a distinguished career.

Jane L. Mixer Memorial Award (Faculty, staff, and student nominations accepted): for outstanding contributions to activities designed to advance social justice.

Irving J. Stenn, Jr. Award (Faculty, staff, and student nominations accepted): for demonstrating leadership and contributing through extracurricular activities to the wellbeing and strength of the Law School or University.

National Association of Women Lawyers Award (Faculty, staff, and student nominations accepted): for a senior student who has demonstrated achievement and motivation in academic and community work, and has exhibited the potential for future contributions to the advancement of women in society and in the legal community.

Women Lawyers Association of Michigan Julia D. Darlow Award (Faculty, staff, and student nominations accepted):​ for demonstrating through Law School and community activities the substantial likelihood that, as a lawyer, he or she will advance the interests of women members of the legal profession; promote improvements in the administration of justice; promote equity and social justice for all people; and improve relations between the legal profession and the public.