Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > News & Information > Features > 2012 Fiske Fellows Named

Three Michigan Law Graduates Named 2012 Fiske Fellows

By Lori Atherton

Three Michigan Law graduates—Tsering Lhadon Dhongthog, '10; David Fautsch, '11; and Katharine Wagner, '09—have been named the 2012 Fiske Fellowship recipients.

The Fiske Fellowship Program—funded by a gift from Robert Fiske, JD '55, HLLD '97, senior counsel in the litigation department of Davis Polk & Wardwell—assists graduates pursuing careers in government public service. A former assistant U.S. attorney and U.S. attorney for the Southern District of New York, and independent counsel in the Whitewater investigation, Fiske believes that having a government service experience early in a professional career is a fulfilling path to pursue, and desired to help Michigan Law graduates have that experience. Fellows receive a $5,000 first-year cash stipend and debt repayment assistance for three years on all educational loans.

 2012 Fiske Fellows
From left: Tsering Lhadon Dhongthog, '10; Robert Fiske, '55; Katherine Wagner, '09; David Fautsch, '11.

"In addition to having accumulated enviable records of academic excellence, the Fellows exemplify the commitment to public service that is the hallmark of Mr. Fiske's own career," said Laura Scott, attorney-counselor and government advisor in the Office of Career Planning. "Their future careers in federal service will enable them to work alongside some of the nation's top lawyers in the areas of criminal, civil, and international law, doing important and rewarding work."

Both Fautsch and Wagner work for the U.S. Department of Justice. Fautsch is in the Aviation and Admiralty Section of the Civil Division's Torts Branch, while Wagner is employed in the Criminal Division's Asset Forfeiture and Money Laundering Section. Dhongthog, a Presidential Management Fellow, works in the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Policy and International Affairs.

Fiske Fellows are selected by a special committee appointed by Law School Dean Evan Caminker. Selection criteria includes the applicant's demonstrated commitment to public service, academic achievements, and the nature and quality of the proposed government position.

Read more feature stories.