No losers in this election

The results are pouring in from the precincts, and the winner looks like . . . Michigan Law's student organizations.

Less than halfway through the annual rite of fall known as the Nannes Third-Year Challenge, student fundraisers are two-thirds of the way to their goal, with 135 pledges secured toward a goal of 200.

This year's model has an election theme, "Vote Nannes 2008," with students depositing completed pledges in ballot boxes and the slogan, "A Chunk of Change Everyone Can Believe In."

Third-year Michigan Law student and Nannes boardmember VJ Thompson casts his “ballot” as part of the election-themed Nannes 3L Challenge this month.

Here's how the Challenge works: Participating 3Ls pledge to give $250 to the Law School in each of the first three years after graduation. The first 200 participants can designate a portion of a challenge grant from John Nannes, '73, to as many as three student organizations of their choice. The student organizations receive the funds soon after the Challenge concludes on October 31, which means pledge participants see near-immediate benefits to their giving.

This is an exceptionally good year to vote Nannes, since the program’s longtime benefactor made the $50,000 challenge gift in honor of his class's 35th reunion, held on campus September 26-28.

During his reunion weekend Nannes got a chance to meet the 2008 Challenge committee members and student organization leaders at a reception at the Cottage Inn, a week before the Challenge kicked off on October 2.

Nannes funds the Challenge to encourage Michigan Law alumni to give back to the Law School during their first years out of school.

The 2008 student co-chairs are Tim Knapp and Shekar Krishnan. Committee members are Stefan Atkinson, Cheryl Bratt, Laura Ferrell, Rob Kim, Chris Lee, Zoe Levine, Serena Liu, Annise Maguire, Andrew Moll, Dani Polar, Dean Sage, Adriel Sanders, Michelle Swiren, V.J. Thompson, and Maurice Worsley.