Victors Valiant emerge from Campbell Moot Court Competition

Moot Court Competition

By John Masson, Amicus Editor

The Henry M. Campbell Moot Court Competition, a Michigan Law tradition that stretches back more than 80 years, earned top team and best brief honors in April for 3Ls Jake Walker and Jane Metcalf, and a best oralist award for 2L Cheryl Palmeri.

Palmeri and classmate Rory Wellever were runners-up for the best team award.

The case being mooted involved two questions: first, whether the warrantless use of cell-site technology to locate and track a person violates that person's rights under the Fourth Amendment, and second, whether the government should be allowed to use a Mirandized suspect's response to a police consent-to-search request as part of its case-in-chief.

More than 150 students competed this year, assisted by many members of the faculty. Professors Joan Larsen, Eve Brensike Primus and Sam Gross were singled out by the student board that administers the competition for their help in designing the problem and assisting the board and competitors.

This year's judging panel for the final round included Judge Betty B. Fletcher of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Judge Neil M. Gorsuch of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, and Judge David S. Tatel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit.

The Henry M. Campbell Moot Court Competition was established in 1926 and honors the 1878 Michigan Law graduate who founded the Detroit law firm that became Dickinson Wright. Competition lasts much of the year, and is open to all second- and third-year students, as well as to LL.M., visiting, and dual-degree students.

See more on the Campbell competition, and a slideshow of competition highlights.