Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
History and Traditions
Student Profile
The Honorable Raymond Wesley Starr
Class of: 1910

Source: Portrait from the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society website


Raymond W. Starr served on the Michigan Supreme Court from 1941 through 1946.
Starr was born on August 24, 1888, and raised near Harbor Springs, Michigan. After graduation from Harbor Springs High School, he attended Ferris Institute, now Ferris State College, and graduated in 1907. He then attended the University of Michigan Law School, where he graduated in 1910.
Upon Starr's graduation he went to Grand Rapids to practice, and after a few years formed the legal firm of Wicks, Fuller and Starr. While engaged in practice in Grand Rapids, he was the founder of the Legal Aid Bureau. He started it himself, and would go there at night and help the poor people of Grand Rapids.
In 1936, Starr was elected Attorney General of Michigan. He served for two years during the Depression when the politics of the time dictated a new Attorney General every two years. In May of 1941, Starr was appointed to the Michigan Supreme Court by Governor Murray D. Van Wagoner to succeed Justice Thomas McAllister, who had been appointed to the Court of Appeals. On June 2, 1946, he was appointed United States District Judge for the Western District of Michigan by President Harry S. Truman and served with distinction for 15 years, until his retirement in August of 1961. Raymond W. Starr died November 2, 1968.
G. Mennen Williams reflected on Starr and said that, "Raymond Starr, with one of his hearty northern Michigan chuckles, said to me one day, 'Mennen, when you go campaigning, remember there's more votes in a bar than in a church.' I don't know whether that is to what I owe my success in six terms as Governor or not. But in any event, I owe a great debt to Raymond Starr." (Michigan Supreme Court. Michigan Reports: Cases Decided by the Supreme Court of Michigan. Rochester, N.Y.: Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Co., 1949--1998, Vol. 417.)
-- From the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society.
Image Biography
Additional Information on The Honorable Raymond Wesley Starr
Browse a different year
Members of Class of 1910
Albert, William Leon
Allen, Leland Justus
Anderson, William C.
Avery, Ray Dudley
Ayres, Frank Craigmile
Baer, Joseph Jay
Baker, Alexander B.
Banyon, Willard Johnson
Baylor, Fahy Blymyer
Behr, Fred Arthur
Besse, Robert W.
Biesterfeld, Arthur Henry
Bisbee, Rollin Otis
Block, Samuel Frederick
Bonynge, Walter Alfred
Boyd, Clinton Dewitt
Boyer, Lloyd Clinton
Boyle, Harley Johnson
Bradley, Ambrose
Bradley, Anderville Sluggett
Brattin, Carl Lee
Brown, Carl Louis
Brown, Paul Rankin
Bryen, John Francis
Burkhard, Wilson James
Carlson, Clarence Karl
Caswell, Leigh Crawford
Caudill, Watson Henry
Cheek, Logan McKee
Chockley, Lloyd Torbert
Clancey, Thomas
Clarke, Alois R.
Combe, Charles Emil
Cook, Roy William
Coolidge, Frank Wellington
Corliss, Cullen Danforth
Covey, Reuben Tom
Cox, Edward Blackwell
Creighton, John Thrale
Crotser, Joseph Merle
Daines, Walter Ebenezer
Davidson, Irving Karl
Davis, Arnold Nelson
Davis, William Elias
Dayton, John Stork
Dean, Fred Louis
Decker, John F.
Delano, Earl W.
DeLano, Earl Warren
Dixon, George Eleazer
Doty, Ralph Westcott
Dygert, Roy J.
Eastman, Harold Strickland
Eckels, Frank Johnston
Ely, Glenn Morse
Emerick, Rex S.
Erickson, John Otto
Evans, Irving Leroy
Fetta, Martin Luther
Foley, Frank Daniel
Foster, George Kenyon
Fowler, Ethelbert Hazelton
Frisby, Frank Maurice
Galloway, Rolla Meade
Galvin, John A.
Gates, Louis Robert
Gillespie, Glenn C.
Goddard, Karl Blake
Gordon, Lee Marion
Gordon, Nathan Beryl
Grable, Roscoe Mac
Greene, James Edward
Guernsey, R. Curtis
Hall, Verdine Robert
Harden, Clyde
Hatch, Charles Reuben
Hatch, Jay Warren
Hayt, Charles Denison
Helms, John Charles
Henry, Guy De Vere
Henry, Theophilus Francis
Hibbs, William Irlington
Higgins, Shelley Judson
Hill, James Monroe
Hill, Thomas T.
Hills, Charles Adelbert
Hirth, Ralph Smith
Hoelscher, Gustave H.
Honnold, Richard Jacob
Horton, James Albert
Howe, Beverly Winslow
Hubbard, Forrest L.
Hulse, Delbert Trigg
Immel, Earl Ostrander
Jackson, Glenn W.
James, Russell Boswell
Johnson, Carey Runyon
Johnson, Christen Sophus
Johnson, Edward Richard
Johnson, Lindsay E.
Jones, Harrison
Jones, John Davis
Kahn, Max
Keck, Clarence Post
Keefe, Frank Bateman
Kidd, Chester Buchanan
Kief, Alphonso Elmer
Kirby, Edward George
Kober, Karl Henry
Koscinski, Arthur Adam
Koski, John Jacob
Kothe, Herman W.
Langdon, Laurence Edwin
Lapham, John Wilbur
Lawrence, James MacKendrie
Lawshe, James Sweetser
Leavens, Harlow Gaines
Lee, Benedict Herman
Little, Frank Albert
Losinger, William J.
Luther, Lester
MacGillis, Henry R.
MacRobert, Frederick Hough
Marshall, Claude J.
McCarthy, Neil S.
McCluggage, Thomas Verne
McDavid, John Russell
McLean, Carl Hugh
Mercer, Lafayette S.
Meyers, Edward Wesley
Miller, Charles George
Miller, George Horace
Mitchell, Francis B.
Moon, Charles Redman
Morgan, Harry Wayne
Mosier, Carl Downing
Munshaw, Earl Wright
Myers, Orel Jacob
Neeves, Leland Kendrick
Newman, Herbert Joseph
Noll, Denzil
Nowakoski, Alfred George
O'Connor, Alexander J.
O'Hara, Chester P.
O'Leary, Thomas L.
O'Neill, Frank James
Ozawa, Arthur Kenzaburo
Packard, George
Patton, Harry Lanphier
Phillips, Cecil Henry
Plunkett, Edward Milton
Powell, Jeremiah Harrison
Powell, John Sherman
Powell, Lewis Mortimer
Pratt, Harmel Laurence
Prebis, Edward John
Primeau, Joseph Hilaire
Pugsley, Frank Garfield
Ramsey, Herbert Enoch
Ray, Thomas Edward
Re, Shore Donald Bushnell
Reisch, Carl Martin
Rendinell, Dominic Francis
Rhoads, Samuel Henry
Riley, Thomas James
Ross, Custer Enoch
Ruttle, Charles Hickey
Ryman, Dean Ernest
Sabin, Charles Earl
Sargent, Michael Edward
Sayles, Alexander L.
Schafer, Herman Andrew
Schmidt, Frederick H.
Schurtz, Shelby Brewer
Scott, Charles Benjamin
Shaffer, John C.
Sharpe, Donald Bruce
Shaw, Elwyn Riley
Shaw, Joseph Tweed
Short, Wilbert Eugene
Simmonds, Richard Evret
Snyder, Buell Helmick
Snyder, Clark Henry Webster
Spaulding, Walter Leone
Sprague, Ira C.
Starr, Raymond Wesley
Stephens, Homer S.
Stewart, Robert Franklin
Straub, Thomas Jefferson
Swentzel, Edward Reed
Taft, Henry Chester
Tallmadge, Myles Potter
Thomas, Maurice M.
Thompson, William Royal
Toms, Robert M.
Tourje, Ebon Carl
Umphrey, William Franklin
Updyke, George W.
VanVlack, Lynn Raymond
Vaughan, James Robert
Vaughan, Raymond C.
Visscher, Raymond
Walker, Henry S.
Walker, Ralph H.
Wamsley, Grover Cleveland
Washburn, Levi James
Watson, Roe Duke
Wattles, Sidney Smith
Weatherford, Mark Verne
Wellman, Earl
Westerman, Clifford Walter
Whealdon, Clarence Le Roy
Wilcoxen, Harry H.
Wilkins, Harold A.
Williams, Samuel Raymond
Wilson, Dockery
Wilson, Russell Harrison
Worcester, Alpheus Amos
Wright, Arthur F. H.
Zewadski, William Kosciusko
Michigan Law Wordmark Print View