Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
History and Traditions
Student Profile
The Honorable Louis Henry Fead
Class of: 1900

Source: Portrait from the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society website


Louis H. Fead served as a Michigan Supreme Court justice from 1928 through 1937.
Louis H. Fead was born on May 2, 1877, the eighth of nine children of John Lawrence and Augusta (Walther) Fead. The family lived in Lexington, Michigan, where they operated a small wool mill. Louis was educated in the local public schools, was graduated as valedictorian at age 16, and attended Olivet College, eventually earning a Doctor of Laws. In 1897 he moved to Detroit and worked in the law offices of Bacon & Palmer and attended the Detroit College of Law. In 1898, he enrolled in the University of Michigan Law School where he received a Bachelor of Laws in 1900.
A lover of outdoor sports and wilderness, Fead moved to Newberry in the Upper Peninsula soon after graduating from the University of Michigan. He opened a modest practice, but had not worked independently for more than a few months before being elected Prosecuting Attorney for Luce County. He held this office from 1901 to 1913 and learned the responsibilities of the profession and the obligations of public office.
Immediately following his terms as Prosecuting Attorney, Fead was elected to the Circuit Court of the eleventh district, an office he held through repeated re-elections until 1928. In June 1929, after Fead had presided over the trial of "King Ben" of the Israelite House of David on public nuisance charges, the Michigan Supreme Court, on hearing the appeal in the case, commended him for his handling of a lengthy and complicated trial involving "...51 days of actual trial, 225 witnesses, 500 exhibits, 73 depositions, and 15,000 pages of testimony." And so Fead continued to distinguish himself on the Circuit Court until February 21, 1928, when Governor Fred W. Green appointed him to the Michigan Supreme Court to fill the remainder of Chief Justice Richard C. Flannigan's term. Under the rules of the Court the appointee immediately became Chief Justice. He presided from 1928 until 1937, when Fead was defeated in his bid for re-election.
In 1938, Fead and his family moved to Detroit where he entered private practice, serving his community amidst friends and colleagues until his death on February 4, 1943. (Biography compiled by Ann Lucas, Serials Librarian of Thomas M. Cooley Law School, Lansing, Michigan, 1998.)
--  From the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society website
Image Biography

Click on the thumbnail to enlarge

Louis H. Fead New York Times, 21.
Additional Information on The Honorable Louis Henry Fead
Browse a different year
Members of Class of 1900
Abersol, Edward John
Adams, John
Alberson, Raymond Brown
Allen, William Lindsay
Anderson, George Firth
Ashcraft, Edwin Maurice
Austin, Frederick Richard
Babcock, Lucius
Baker, Grant Wilson
Ballou, William Nelson
Barbee, Joshua Francis
Barnard, William J.
Barr, Rolland Emery
Barry, Rupert John
Barthell, Charles Edward
Batson, Homer Ward
Beatty, Harold Clifton
Bigelow, Frederick Warren
Boynton, Albert Eugene
Brondige, John Eli
Budge, Jesse Robert Stratford
Bulleit, Walter Victor
Buster, Herbert B.
Butler, Frank
Carnal, Florian Amede D.
Carter, John Gordon
Chamberlain, Joseph Duncan
Cloud, Albert Morgan
Cloud, Philip Marion
Cogshall, Frederick Charles
Colson, Burnell
Commager, Harry Steele
Conlon, Thomas Arthur
Connelly, Everett
Converse, Curtis Leigh
Converse, Henry Aaron
Coon, Byron Henry
Cox, Allan Priest
Crane, Frank Goodwin
Crothers, Charles Fair
Crowley, Jerome Joseph
Daehler, Edward Jacob
Dains, William Frederick
Dandridge, John Boyce
Danforth, Horace Warren
Davids, Ernest George
Davies, William Burt
Davis, George Newton
Davis, Moses Cozzens
Day, William Louis
Donaldson, Joseph Gish
Doolittle, Harry James
Drake, Heber Lincoln
Dunn, Arthur Wood
Dutch, Charles Clarence
Eakle, Martin Hancock
Ehrlich, Louis Herman
Ellick, Alfred George
Ely, Addison
Evans, Peter Carlos
Fancher, Frank Bradley
Fead, Louis Henry
Ferree, Ernest Franklin
Fiedler, Joseph John
Fish, George Rinaldo
Fisher, Lewis
Flynn, David William
Ford, Carl Boughton
Ford, William Louis
Freeborn, Andrew Jackson
Frueauff, Charles Albert
Funkhouser, Charles Andrew
Furuya, Shigetsuna
Geake, William Clayton
Gittins, Robert Henry
Glasser, Frederick Philip
Govert, George Wood
Greene, James Almon
Guthrie, Herbert Eugene
Halpin, William Aloysius
Hamilton, Lyle Blake
Hans, Otto Henry
Harding, John Eugene
Harter, Joseph Lewis
Hartsburg, Fred William
Haskett, John Francis
Hauberg, John Henry
Hawkins, Ira Moses
Heck, Joy Ernest
Helfman, Harry
Hoffman, Clayton Homer
Holbrook, Evans
Howell, Edward Yerkes
Huntley, Thomas Stilwell
Jackson, Theodore Kadish
Jernegan, Ralph Hartwell
Jones, Dana Thompson
Juttner, Charles Frank
Kelley, Patrick Henry
Kelley, William Lewis
Kempner, Abe Jay
Kirby, Edward Percival
Kirkbride, Walter George
Kramer, Rutherford Burges Hayes
Kyle, William Donald
Lee, William Oliver
Lehr, John Camillus
Lemley, Wilbur Rutherford
Levin, George William
Lindenman, Carl
Linderholm, Oscar Edward
Line, Clyde Maxwell
Lippert, Peter Michael
Long, Albert Victor
Loomis, Fred W.
Lowenthal, Leo Bennett
Lyle, Clarence Mansfield
Lyon, Thomas Eddy
Mandelbaum, Aaron
Mautz, Edmund Jacob
McAdoo, John Braden
McCready, William J.
McDonald, Charles Gilman
McFarlane, Duncan Richard
McKenzie, Charles Francis
McLaughlin, Bert E.
Meighen, John Felix Dryden
Meschede, William Henry
Meyers, William John
Miller, Guy Alonzo
Mohr, Carl Frank
Monfort, Frank R.
Montgomery, John A.
Moody, Will Cornelius
Mulford, Elmer W.
Mullen, Arthur Francis
Mulroney, Edward C.
Murphy, Lewis Edgar
Myers, John William
Niman, Charles Almon
O'Brien, James
O'Connor, Sylvester
Olmsted, Floyd Russell
Onen, James Bernard
Oppenheimer, Julian Arthur
Oversmith, August Henry
Paddock, Harry Williams
Parker, John Marshall
Parker, Ralph
Pettit, Roy Elton
Phillips, Pleasant Irving
Potter, Frederick Willis
Potter, Harry Barent
Rappaport, Leo M.
Reynolds, Charles Henry
Rine, John Alfred
Ringolosky, Mory Franklin
Rodda, William Bennallack
Rosenhaupt, Harry
Rydalch, William Edward
Samson, Rolla Eaton
Saville, Orville Joseph
Schulder, Russell Gruby
Silliman, Thomas S.
Simons, Charles C.
Simons, Frank Stanton
Smith, Charles Clement
Soar, Edward Woods
Sooy, Mortimer Alonzo
Stegeman, Albert Augustus
Stenberg, Emil Nils
Stewart, Bernard Joseph
Stewart, Earl Ruthven
Stransky, Franklin John
Stringer, Frederick Lykes
Sutphen, Richard Huss
Sweasey, Frank Raymond
Sweet, Frederick A.
Swisher, Warren C.
Symington, James
Tanner, De Witt Clinton
Taper, Richard
Tarbox, Claude Lorraine
Taylor, O. Clyde
Teetzel, Clayton Tyron
Thayer, Russell B.
Thomas, Mathonihah
Thompson, Charles Henry
Thompson, Clyde Hugh
Thompson, Fulton
Thompson, Nathan Platt
Thomson, Julien Harrington
Tilton, McLane
Turner, Maurice Clark
Tyler, Leon Lewis
Tyndale, Emma Sarah
Vale, Franklin Ernest
Van Horn, Samuel Hale
Von, Nieda George
Voorhies, Paul Warren (Von)
Wade, Roy Judson
Ward, Charles A.
Warren, Harry A.
Watson, Charles Lee
Weigle, Maurice
Weimer, David Palmer
Weldon, Ara
Weldon, Charles Henry
Westfall, William A.
Whitenbury, Wellington W.
Wiley, George Samuel
Williams, Charles Edmund
Williams, Howard Ralph Hugh
Williams, Wallace Alfred
Witt, Walter Hugh
Wood, Carver Charles
Woodrow, Thomas R.
Woods, William Grant
Wright, Benjamin Smith
Zimmerman, Louis
Zimmers, William Jason
Michigan Law Wordmark Print View