Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
History and Traditions
Student Profile
The Honorable William Leland Carpenter
Class of: 1878

Source: Portrait from the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society website


William Leland Carpenter, [18]78l, LL. D. (Hon.) [19]13, Justice of the State Supreme Court of Michigan from 1902 to 1907, died on January 17, 1936, at his home in Detroit.  He was 82 years old.
Justice Carpenter began the practice of law in Detroit in 1878 and from 1894 to 1902 served as Wayne County Circuit Judge.  Following his period of service in the Supreme Court he retired to private practice and for many years was known as one of Detroit’s ablest lawyers.  Throughout his career he was a loyal Republican.  In 1912 he was Delegate to the Republican National Convention and was Chairman of the Republican State Convention in 1915.  He served as President of the State Bar Association in 1916.
-- From The Michigan Alumnus, Vol. 42, 1936, p. 246.
With picture
William L. Carpenter, [18]78l, LL. D. (Hon.) [19]13, a former Justice of the Supreme Court of Michigan, for many years has been Counsel for the prominent Detroit law firm of Stevenson, Butzel, Eaman, and Long.  He received his academic degree from Michigan State in 1875, coming directly to Michigan, and upon the completion of his law course at the University he began his practice in Detroit.  From 1894 to 1902 he was Judge of the Wayne County Circuit Court and for the next six years was Justice of the Supreme Court.  In 1908 he resigned to resume his private practice.  Mr. Carpenter was a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1912, and was Chairman of the Republican State Convention in 1915.  The following year he was President of the State Bar Association.
-- From The Michigan Alumnus, Vol. 38, February 27, 1932, p. 371.
With picture
Image Biography
Additional Information on The Honorable William Leland Carpenter
Browse a different year
Members of Class of 1878
Allen, Andrew Buchanan
Ashley, James MacGregor
Ashley, Warren
Ashman, Loraine
Barnes, Charles Albert
Barr, Robert Pollock
Baum, Morris C.
Beardsley, Carlton Abby
Belford, George Frederick
Black, William James
Bohri, Frank Gilbert
Bower, Burroughs Frank
Boyd, James McCampbell
Briggs, William Archer
Campbell, Henry Munroe
Carpenter, Frank L.
Carpenter, William Leland
Carter, William
Clark, Jacob Catlin
Connell, Joseph Burton
Conner, Charles
Converse, Eugene Mason
Cook, Warren J.
Cook, William Henry
Cooper, Zimri Lonzo
Corbin, Byron Jay
Couillard, Charles Arthur
Crandall, William Alfred
Davis, John Milton
Dawley, Frank Fremont
Des, Voignes Lee Burget
Donovan, Edward
Dwyre, Anderson Simpson
Eaglesfield, Elizabeth
Ferguson, Herbert Van Allen
Fink, John Everett
Garrett, John Owen
Gates, General George
Gladish, Jeremiah Wright
Godfroy, Louis Philip Charles
Goodell, William
Gould, Frederick Harry
Hackleman, Thurston Pierce
Haigh, Henry Allyn
Hale, Charles Edward
Hamilton, Joel Warren
Hanaw, Henry
Hancock, Harry Philip
Hanitch, John
Hayward, Abner Kellogg
Hidy, Joseph
Hill, Walter Bunyan
Hoffman, Henry
Hoover, Clayton John Stehman
Hostetter, Abraham F.
Howes, Enoch Thatcher
Hutchins, Eugene Ralph
Ingersoll, Charles Sumner
Ingersoll, Frederick Gerard
Ireland, Wooster Morrow
Johnson, William Allen
Johnston, James Washington
Jones, Samuel Clark
Keith, John Culbertson
Kirkpatrick, John Caldwell
Klein, Wilfred Ivanhoe
Knowlton, Jerome Cyril
Lampson, Elbert Leroy
Landon, Nathaniel Benjamin
Lane, Victor Hugo
Lauman, Charles Newcomb
Lay, Frank Barbour
Lee, Myron W.
Lindner, Henry
Logan, Thomas Cornelius
Lucking, Alfred Edward
Magrath, Patrick William
Mason, Albert Eugene
Matthews, Ovid Luther
May, Calvin Leonidas
McDonald, James Henry
McGuffin, James Robert
McGuirk, Ambrose Peter
Miner, Selden Spencer
Moore, William Newbury
Neff, Justus Tillman
Nelson, Charles Campbell
Nunn, Frederick Thomas
Ogan, Julius Sinclair
O'Reilly, William
Osthaus, Henry
Page, Joel Webster
Pantlind, George Evert
Paxton, Alfred Noble
Payne, Franklin Pierce
Peirson, Eugene Douglass
Perkins, Edwin Zina
Phelps, Syrus G. D.
Powers, James McMillan
Pray, Franklin Henry
Prescott, Daniel Edward
Prussing, Eugene Ernst
Randolph, Charles Morgan
Reed, Herbert Stanley
Remick, Daniel Clark
Remsen, Daniel Smith
Rhoades, Henry Kendall
Rinaker, Thomas
Ritter, Herman
Roberts, Charles Humphrey
Rohde, Hans Frederick
Royon, Joseph Charles
Rozzelle, Frank Finley
Rudy, Wilbur Fremont
Saito, Kingpay
Sawbridge, Charles James
Schaeffer, Horace Bigelow
Sleator, George Henry
Smith, Benjamin Franklin
Smith, Charles William
Smith, George
Smith, Howard Burnham
Smith, Samuel William
Stacy, James Alonzo
Stephenson, Howard
Suddarth, Jeremiah Lewis
Talbot, William Dawson
Taylor, Henry Gee
Taylor, John Warren
Thompson, Alden Stewart
Tindall, John Alexander
Tremper, Henry Stever
Tsuda, Junichi Ukizumi
Turner, Isaac Muncaster
Vance, Samuel William
Walker, Claudius Demont
Walker, Myron Hamilton
Walker, Warren Edward
Walker, Willis Shotwell
Wanty, George Proctor
White, Alvin Clark
Whitford, John Stewart
Wilbur, Smith Newell
Wilcox, Frederick Potter
Wishek, John Henry
Wolf, Gustave Adolph
Wollman, Henry
Wylie, James Robert
Yost, William
Michigan Law Wordmark Print View