Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
History and Traditions
Student Profile
The Honorable Clark Jayno Adams
Class of: 1927

Source: Portrait from the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society website


Clark J. Adams served on the Michigan Supreme Court from 1952 through 1953.
Clark J. Adams was graduated from the University of Michigan, having obtained his A.B. and his J.D. degrees. He married Adeline Adams in June of 1929. He practiced law in the City of Pontiac with C. Bryan Kinney, and in 1936, 1938, and again in 1940 he was elected to the Michigan House of Representatives. He served as G. Mennen Williams' legal advisor during Williams' service as Governor. Adams was appointed to the Michigan Supreme Court on August 14, 1952, to fill a vacancy caused by the death of Justice Walter H. North.
Adams served on the Court until December 31, 1953, having been victorious in the November 1952 election over two opponents, but then defeated in the April 1953 election by Justices Dethmers and Kelly.
Following his work on the Michigan Supreme Court, Adams was appointed to the Oakland County Circuit Court by Governor G. Mennen Williams to fill a newly created seat. Adams often felt that his position as a Judge of the Oakland County Circuit Court was "the best job in the world." He thoroughly enjoyed his work on the Circuit Court. There were many judges' meetings where, after long debate on a particular subject, Adams would give his reasoned logic as to what his position was and why, and almost without exception his viewpoint would carry the day as a result of his remarks.
Adams was very faithful and would meet every appointment he made, unless it was on November 15. Deer season was sacred, and as a consequence there could be no violation of his right to attend to the most important business of that day.
Adams was a big man in many ways. He was large in stature. To those who knew him he had a big heart. His mind had a broad compass. He had great scholarship and a great knowledge of Michigan law, and he had a keen and fertile mind that was steeped in love of the law and enriched by his eminent experience in interpreting the law. (Michigan Supreme Court. Michigan Reports: Cases Decided by the Supreme Court of Michigan. Rochester N.Y.: Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Co., 1949 - 1998, Vol. 417.)
-- From the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Society.
Image Biography
Additional Information on The Honorable Clark Jayno Adams
Browse a different year
Members of Class of 1927
Abbott, Asa George
Adams, Clark Jayno
Ailes, Edgar Holt
Annis, Richard Carleton
Anspach, Robert Dee
Avery, Lyman B.
Bean, George Wilmot
Becker, Roi Owen
Belt, William A.
Berge, Wendell
Blume, William Wirt
Bolano, Amando Bermejo
Bolt, Menso Ralph
Boyle, James B.
Brenner, Daniel Leon
Britz, Morris
Britz, Morris J.
Cadwell, Fred G.
Cavanaugh, Hugh Thomas
Chandler, John Perry
Conder, Robert W.
Conlin, John William
Cooper, Lloyd Everett
Cornell, Robert Franklin
Crogan, John Dewey
Culver, Fred Calvin
Custer, Everett E.
Dethmers, John R.
Dixon, Donald McIntosh
Doten, Roger Dolph
Drebin, Sydney R.
Duffy, James Eugene
Dunn, James Joseph
Eggenberger, William John
Eichorn, Fred Foltz
Eiges, Herbert Myer
Engle, J. T.
Erickson, Paul R.
Ferris, George F.
Finley, Gerald F.
Florer, Frances Mary
Foltz, Pearl Evalina
Foster, James C.
Fulton, Radcliffe Berwick
Gale, George Jackson
Germansky, Abraham
Giles, William Bliss
Gluckman, Nathan A.
Goldberg, Stuart Jacob
Goldman, Ben J.
Goodall, Ralph W.
Guest, Edwin
Haass, Erwin H.
Hall, Harry Lee
Halstead, Benjamin V.
Hammond, John Tedford
Hansen, Hjalmar S.
Harding, Arthur L.
Harding, Mary Leah
Harlocker, Fred Lentner
Harper, Fowler V.
Hartman, William B.
Haskins, Freeman W.
Heideman, Karl P.
Hirt, Paul Stanley
Holland, Francis J.
Horth, Charles M.
Howard, William Marcellus
Howbert, Edgar C.
Ives, Joseph T.
Jenks, Carleton H.
Johnson, Lester F.
Kabaker, Herman A.
Karbel, Sidney Joseph
Karl, Dorothy E.
King, Lawrence S.
King, William Wirt
Kinney, C. Bryan
Kleinert, Walter A.
Larwin, Richard W.
Lasca, Norman Paul
Lawrence, Joseph Don
Leenhouts, Willis Ralph
Levy, Jacob
MacDonald, William H.
Madigan, Edward P.
Mallory, Dudley
Manchester, Robert Asa
McGannon, Thomas L.
McMath, Louis Trent
Mikesell, J. P.
Murray, James F.
Neubeck, Beman Greenway
Newton, Alfred
Nichols, Paul Braxton
Nutter, Bartlett E.
Nylund, Ellen Lydia
O'Brien, Frank T.
O'Hanlon, Philip
Oliver, Alexander Gordon
O'Neill, James Eugene
Pagels, Hardy
Parsons, Joseph H.
Patterson, Donald Stanton
Perrine, Beahl T.
Poppen, Cyrus Marion
Prewitt, Ethan C.
Putnam, Leslie Charles
Ramsey, James R.
Reichert, Priscilla A.
Renkenberger, Francis Galen
Rinear, Robert Treat
Robbins, John Manley
Robin, Sidney Leon
Rody, John Walter
Rose, David Elliott
Ruetz, Earl Dewitt
Safir, Benjamin J.
Salzman, Elmer Henry
Schneider, John Jacob Harold
Schnitz, Soll Jaina
Schumann, Frederick J.
Seagle, Harold
Seifert, Edwin Joseph
Shawaker, Wayne Edward
Sibley, Burton Babcock
Sklar, John
Slattery, James Hobart
Spencer, Arthur E.
Stalker, George H.
Stern, Albert M.
Stimson, Edward S.
Stump, Lowell S.
Tipton, Milo
Troy, Harold Preston
Varnum, Laurent K.
Wahrenbrock, Howard Egger
Weadock, James Joseph
Weis, Leroy Richard
Weiswasser, Aaron
Weston, Edward Anthony
Whitchurch, Carl Louis
Whitsett, Ellen L. N.
Williams, Wilfred Hugh
Wilson, Rolland Owen
Witherspoon, John H.
Wolfe, James Daniel
Wolfe, Louis N.
Wood, Arthur R.
Young, Frank Landon
Zeisse, Priscilla R.
Zivich, Alexander Louis
Michigan Law Wordmark Print View