Skip Navigation LinksHome > Financial Aid > Supplemental Sources of Aid > Minority Students and Women > Women

Women—Supplemental Sources of Financial Aid

AAJ Women for justice education Fund's mike Eidson Scholarship
AAJ Membership
777 6th Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20001
800.424.2725, ext. 8302

The Scholarship, traditionally given in the amount of $5,000, is awarded annually to a rising 3L female student who has demonstrated a commitment to a career as a plaintiffs' lawyer or criminal defense lawyer, along with dedication to upholding and defending the principles of the Constitution, and to the concept of a fair trial, the adversary system, and a just result for the injured, the accused, and those whose rights are jeopardized.
Deadline: May 1

American Association of University Women
AAUW Educational Foundation
c/o Customer Service Center
301 ACT Drive, Department 177
Iowa City, IA 52243-4030
319.337.1716 ext. 177

Each year the AAUW Educational Foundation offers a variety of fellowships to women. Preference is given to women whose civic, community, or professional work shows a commitment to advancing the lives of women and girls. The Foundation strongly encourages women from all underrepresented groups to apply. Further information and applications for these fellowships can be downloaded or requested on-line at the AAUW website.
Deadline: Varies according to fellowship but ranges from November 15 to January 15

Center for the Education of Women
330 East Liberty
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

The CEW Scholarship Program for returning women students was established in 1970 to honor the academic performance and potential of women whose education has been interrupted and to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of the admission of women to the University of Michigan.


Thanks to the generosity of individuals and foundations, CEW has awarded over 1,500 scholarships since 1970. CEW Scholarship Awards are invaluable, since they often mean the difference between completing a degree or not doing so for many students at the University of Michigan. Due to the generosity of donors, CEW was able to expand the program in 2008 to include additional scholarships for male and female students on the Ann Arbor campus.
If you have any questions about the application process or eligibility, contact Kristina Bee at 734.764.7271 or
Deadline: January 31

Crew Chicago Scholarship

CREW Chicago
Attn: Laura Van Alstine
1201 Wakarusa Drive, Suite D
Lawrence, KS 66049
CREW Chicago annually awards one or two scholarships in the amount of $3,000 to female graduate or undergraduate students majoring or concentrating in real estate, construction, facility management, architecture, urban planning, real estate law, land economics, real estate appraisal or related real estate fields. The scholarships are primarily awarded on the basis of academic excellence and are intended to help qualified students pursue an education that will lead them into productive careers in commercial real estate.
Deadline: October 31st
See: Religious

Empowering Women in Law Scholarship

The Pearce Law Firm
1429 Walnut St 14th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 557-8686
The Pearce Law Firm in Philadelphia is pleased to offer The Pearce Law Firm – Empowering Women In Law Scholarship. This scholarship opportunity is open to women nationwide who are currently attending a law school in the United States. This scholarship is intended to encourage & support outstanding achievement & leadership by example from women in the field of law.
This award will be presented to a current female law student for the following academic year in the amount of $2,000.00 & will be paid at the beginning of the fall semester (2015).
Deadline: December 31
Kern County Women Lawyers Association

Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award for Women Working in Health Care Law

Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award
Attn: Law School Awards
Pound Civil Justice Institute
1050 31st Street, NW, 
Washington, DC 20007

This $3,000 national award is given annually to a woman law student with a demonstrated interest in health care law. The candidate must be a woman currently enrolled in an accredited North American law school on a full- or part-time basis who through her law school academic and clinical work and other related activities demonstrates her aptitude for and a long-term commitment to a legal career of advocacy on behalf of the health care needs of children, women, the elderly or the disabled. Candidates must be nominated by a law school dean, clinical program director or law school professor.
Deadline: April 15
1818 H Street, NW
MSN H2-204
Washington, DC 20433
Phone: 202.473.8751
Fax: 202.522.3142
These $12,000 scholarships are for women from developing countries who are currently studying in the United States or Canada. Applicants must also have a record of service to women and children and a commitment to improve the lives of women and children in developing countries.
Deadline: January 18 (4pm)


Ms. JD's Summer Public Interest Scholarships

Winners will receive a $500 prize to support their continued commitment to public interest work. Women law students entering their second or third year at an accredited U.S. law school and working in the summer at least 35 hours per week for a minimum of 6 weeks at a government agency or nonprofit organization are eligible to apply. Unpaid judicial externs also qualify.

Deadline: May 23

New Jersey State Federation of Women's Clubs
Margaret Yardley Fellowship Fund
55 Labor Center Way
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 732.249.5474

This $1,000 fellowship is awarded annually to a deserving female New Jersey resident who is a graduate student. Selection is based on academic achievement, career objectives, charitable endeavors, and financial need.
Deadline: March 1

The University of Michigan Center for the Education of Women
See: Miscellaneous Scholarships

Wellesley College
Secretary to the Committee on Graduate Fellowships
Center for Work and Service
106 Central St.
Wellesley, MA 02481-8203

Several fellowships with awards ranging between $1,000 to $4,000 are available for women law students. Most require that applicants are graduates of Wellesley, others are open to women from other universities. The awards are based on both merit and need.
Deadline: January 7

Women Lawyers Association of Michigan Foundation
See: Michigan

For more scholarships
See: Minority: General

[Back to the Top]


Michigan Law Wordmark Print View