Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Current Students > Office of Student Life > Writing Competitions

2017–2018 Writing Competitions

Arranged chronologically by entry deadline. Additional information about these competitions and awards may be found in a binder located in the Office of Student Life, Hutchins Hall 316. Contact: Trudy Feldkamp.


The Association of Secutiries and Exchange Commission Alumni, Inc. (ASECA) is announcing their annual writing competition.  Prizes for outstanding papers in the field of securities law will be awarded.

TOPIC:  May address any aspect of Securities law.

ELIGIBILITY:  Open to all students enrolled at any accredited law school in the United States for the 2017 fall term.  Unpublished papers, papers published in any law journal or other publication during calendar year 2017, and papers scheduled for publication in 2017 or 2018 are eligible for submission.  Co-authored papers are not eligible.

DEADLINE:  Friday, November 10, 2017

All submissions must include author's name, e-mail address, postal address, telephone number, law school, and year of anticipated graduation.  For published submissions and submissions scheduled to be published, the name and date of publication or anticipated publication should be included.  Should your article be selected, permission from your publisher to post a link to the article on the ASECA website at will be needed.

Two copies of each submission must be received by Friday, November 10, 2017.  E-mailed submissions will NOT be accepted.  Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged by e-mail after all submissions have been received.  MAIL TWO COPIES OF SUBMISSIONS TO:  ASECA, P.O. Box 5767, Washington DC 20016

AWARDS:  First place winner will receive $5,000, second place winner will receive $3,000, and the third place winner will receive $2,000.  Award winners will be invited to the ASECA's annual dinner on Friday, February 24, 2018 in Washington, D.C.  The dinner is attended by SEC Commissioners and many SEC senior staff members.  The first place winner will be reimbursed up to $1,000 in travel and lodging expenses.  

Questions may be directed to Mitzi Moore, ASECA Executive Director at