Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Clinical Programs > Human Trafficking Clinical Program > Faculty, Staff, and Volunteers

Faculty, Staff, and Volunteers


Bridgette Carr directs the Human Trafficking Clinic. She graduated cum laude from the University of Notre Dame in 1998, and earned her JD cum laude from the University of Michigan Law School in 2002. During law school, Professor Carr was a Michigan Refugee and Asylum Law Fellow with Amnesty International. Prior to joining the Michigan Law faculty, Professor Carr was an associate clinical professor at the University of Notre Dame Law School, where she led the Immigrant Rights Project. In 2008, she was awarded a Marshall Memorial Fellowship to study human trafficking issues in Europe. She is a member of the Michigan Human Trafficking Taskforce.

 Bridgette Carr


Prof. Suellyn ScarnecchiaSuellyn Scarnecchia, clinical professor of law, returned to the Law School in 2012 to join the Human Trafficking Clinic after spending a decade in academic administrative posts. Most recently, she served as Vice President and General Counsel of the University of Michigan from 2008-2012. From 2003-2008, she served as Dean of the University of New Mexico School of Law. Prior to serving as Dean, Professor Scarnecchia was a member of the clinical faculty at the University of Michigan Law School for 16 years where she was Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and taught in the Child Advocacy Law Clinic. She has also taught a variety of other courses, including Access to Justice, Negotiation, Children & the Law, and an Interdisciplinary Seminar in Child Abuse and Neglect. She received her bachelor's degree from Northwestern University and her JD from the University of Michigan ('81). She currently serves on the Board of Legal Services of South Central Michigan, a nonprofit organization that provide legal services to the poor.


Prof. Elizabeth CampbellElizabeth Campbell is a clinical assistant professor of law in the Human Trafficking Clinic. Her research and teaching interests focus on human trafficking, immigration, domestic violence, and criminal law, and she is a member of the Michigan Human Trafficking Taskforce. She is spearheading a pilot project in partnership with Washtenaw County aimed at better responding to victims of human trafficking who​ are arrested and/or charged with prostitution and related offenses. Professor Campbell oversees a grant from the Department of Justice aimed at improving services to human trafficking victims that have also been subjected to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking. She received her BA, with distinction, from the University of Michigan and earned her JD, cum laude, from Michigan Law. During law school, she was a Michigan refugee and asylum law fellow with the Refugee Status Appeals Authority in New Zealand and a project coordinator for the Family Law Project, a division of Legal Services of South Central Michigan.


Orli Avi-Yonah, PhD, MSW, Clinical Psychologist 
Eva Foti, Clinical Fellow
Amelia Theisen, Clinic Administrator

Due to the diverse nationalities of our clients, the Human Trafficking Clinic frequently relies on law students, undergraduate students, and members of the community to generously volunteer their time to provide translation services. It is crucial that we communicate with clients in their native language, thus we are extraordinarily grateful for all of our volunteer translators.

The Human Trafficking Law Project relies on the efforts of numerous volunteers from inside the Law School community, as well as outside of it. Some students volunteer as part of the University of Michigan Law School's Pro Bono Pledge, a voluntary program for current students, which encourages students to perform 50 hours or more of qualifying pro bono work during their three years in law school. Students performing at least 50 hours of pro bono work prior to graduation will receive a Certificate of Pro Bono Service from the Dean, recognition at an annual pro bono banquet, and acknowledgement during the Honors Convocation.

In addition to the law students who volunteer a couple hours per week during semesters and over the summers, and those who have volunteered to work full time with the HTLP and clinic this summer, the HTLP's volunteers include graduates of the Law School. They donate a couple hours a week and work from Ann Arbor, from around the country, and the world.

Finally, the HTLP benefits from the efforts of recent Law School graduates. Some graduates have been able to work full time with the project thanks to the Post-Graduate Fellowship Program that Michigan Law offers. Other graduates have taken the opportunity to defer their starting date at law firms around the country, and are using a stipend from those firms in order to work for the clinic full time.

The work of the HTLP would not be possible without the efforts of this large and dedicated team of volunteers.

Full-Time Volunteers (past and present):
Kathryn Bailey
Juliana Vengoechea Barrios
Jason Burns
Sarah Carmody
Karen Gift
Mary Gniadek
Diane Hunt
Su Kim
Jaime Loda
Yana Mihaleva
Mollie O'Rourke
Alexandra Papp
Jordan Peterson
Eric Reed
Helen Schweitz
Anjali Shenoy
Lilia Vazova
Meredith Weill

Part-Time Volunteers (past and present):
Joseph Abney
Nadia Ahmad
Amy Andreas
Patrick Barry
Katherine Blair
James Blakemore
Mariel Block
Rachel Braver
Jacob Brege
Marsha Bresner
Bonnie Calhoun
Erin Cass
Erik Choisy
Rebecca Cohen
Megan Conway
Polina Demina
Anna Dontje
Shruti Dusaj
Jonah Eaton
Leah Engle
Jennifer Feinberg
James Fields
Celia Figlewski
Betsy Fisher
Colleen Fitzharris
Nathaniel Freeland
Courtney Freeman
Robert Friedman
William Miles Fuller
Taylor French
Nate Gambill
Regina Garza
Sara Gibson
Allen Ginzburg
Heather Goodlett
Shira Gordon
Michelle Gris
Austin Hakes
Tara Hawley
Eriko Higa
Anna Hill
Kevin Hill
Gloria Ho
Jacob Hunter
Keil Hur
Sarah Jacobvitz
Vinu Joseph
Kathleen Kersh
Clara Kim
Kathryn Kincade
Anna Kleppe
Whitney Krogue
Kim Leaman
Amanda Lee
Christina Lee
Shannon Leitner
Bianca Levin-Soler
Alice Liu
Hannah Logue
Zhi-Jun Loh
Jordan Long
Ian Love
Cheryl Luce
Jost Lunstroth
Katherine Meister
Emily Miller
Kate Mitroka
Nick Monterosso
Sarah Moskow
Matthew Muma
Daniel Nadal
Allison Nichols
Katherine O'Connor
Alidz Oshagan
Austin Ownbey
Elena Peifer
Christopher Perras
Christopher Popecki
Zachary Proulx
Adam Richard
Lauren Rivard
Katherine Robinson
Nadia Said
Sogoal Salari
Stephanie Salter
Megan Sanders
Ariel Schepers
Renee Schomp
Darin See
Lindsay Smith
Thomas Stasi
Zackary Stillings
Kylee Sunderlin
Lyman Thai
Patrick Thronson
Lindsey Trainor
Lara Wagner
Allison Waks
Jennifer Svegel-Ford Walker
Jessica Wall
Stephanie Westman
Alisa Whitfield
Megan Williams
Charles Wineland
Laura Wolff
Kelsey Wright
Ashley Yueh
Nina Zelic
Carlen Zhang
Dayna Zolle



Michigan Law Wordmark Print View